Several European nations ban Russia from their airspace amid Ukraine war

A few European countries have banned Russia from their airspace, saying they will not have “planes of the attacker state in fair skies” as the Kremlin proceeds with its barbaric invasion of Ukraine.

Russian planes are barred from the United Kingdom, Poland, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Romania, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Slovenia starting at Saturday evening – and the rundown is probably going to grow longer.

“We’re moving forward our actions against the Russian hostility in Ukraine,” Czech Transport Minister Martin Kupka said Saturday.

“No flights for assailant planes in the opportunity sky,” Lithuanian Prime Minister Ingrida Simonyte tweeted, reflecting the explanation of Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas, who said “there is a bad situation for planes of the attacker state in democratic skies.”

The two Baltic nations, alongside Latvia, composed their declarations of the boycott. Lithuania’s boycott could demonstrate especially effective since departures from Russia to its exclave Kaliningrad will more often than not go straight through the small country.

Dutch KLM Airlines reported Saturday it was likewise dropping all flights to Russia for the following week because of European authorizes and would be guiding its pilots to stay away from Russian airspace.

Russia has banned a large number of similar nations from its airspace in reprisal, including Bulgaria, Poland, Romania, and Czech Republic.

“Air carriers of these states or potentially enrolled in them are dependent upon limitations on trips to objections on the domain of the Russian Federation,” the federal air transport agency Rosaviation said in an statement.

Russia previously banned all British carriers from its airspace recently after the UK banished Russian aircraft Aeroflot from entering.

The altercation over airspace is one of the numerous ways EU nations seem, by all accounts, to be raising their reaction to Russia’s attack on Ukraine.